Databases
Bibliography
You will be using http://www.noodletools.com to keep track of your sources.
Databases
BC Digital Classroom Resources
https://focusedresources.ca/en/bc-digital-classroom-access
Many of the resources below are available through this landing page
Username: pcslibrary
Password: the usual one
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Username: pcslibrary2
The password is the usual one.
http://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?userGroupName=pcslibrary&prodId=SCIC
Science In Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science In Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Username: pcslibrary
Password: the usual one - ask your Librarian
http://find.galegroup.com/gic/start.do?prodId=GIC&userGroupName=pcslibrary
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - i
ncluding podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Username: pcslibrary
Password: the usual one - ask your Librarian
Gale in Context: World History
Access centuries worth of rare primary sources, reliable references and multimedia content.
Username: pcslibrary
Password: the usual one - ask your Librarian
Gale in Context: Environmental Issues
Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
Username: pcslibrary
Password: the usual one - ask your Librarian
http://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=CIC&u=pcslibrary
Canada In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places, and events. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content, written from a Canadian perspective, with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Username: pcslibrary
Password: the usual one - ask your Librarian
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
Ancient Civilizations Reference Library 3v 2000 (9781414422855)
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras 5v 2005 (9780787693848)
Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict 2v 2005 (9780028659961)
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World 2v 2004 (9780028659121)
The Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained 3v 2003 (9780787677640)
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia 2nd ed. 17v 2003 (9780787677503)
Industrial Revolution Reference Library 4v 2003 (9780787693039)
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Canadian Provinces 4th ed. 2004 (9780787693602)
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas 6v 2005 (9780684314525)
Prejudice in the Modern World Reference Library 5v 2007 (9781414410579)
UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances 5v 2006 (9781414406190)
Username: pcslibrary
Password: the usual one - ask your Librarian
https://www.worldbookonline.com/home/
Username: pcslibrary
Password: the usual one - ask your Librarian
https://focusedresources.ca/en/bc-digital-classroom-access
Username: pcslibrary
Password: the usual one - ask your Librarian
https://livingatlas.arcgis.com/en/home/
Username: pcslibrary
Password: the usual one, plus the number 1
Other Online Resources
http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com
https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/fr
The Encyclopedia of British Columbia
http://www.bclaws.ca/index.html
Encyclopedia of Earth, an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, expert-reviewed collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and are useful to students, educators, scholars, and professionals, as well as to the general public.
https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/Pages/home.aspx
Search the Collection of Databases
Info Please Columbia Encyclopedia
https://www.infoplease.com/encyclopedia
Dictionaries Online
Mirriam-Webster Visual Dictionary
http://visual.merriam-webster.com/
Browse the dictionary by topic (from astronomy to sports & games) or you can do a keyword search of the index, which will suggest words. An illustration and a link to an audio pronunciation are included.
In addition to the definitions there's also a game of the week (match the definitions to the illustrations; this week's was pretty easy but the archived game for the castle looks tough).
Visual Dictionary
http://www.ikonet.com/en/visualdictionary/
Search by theme or word.
http://www.oldmagazinearticles.com
Atlases
http://atlas.gc.ca/site/english/index.html
Explore these topics: Energy, Forestry, Geology, Mining & Minerals, Population, The North, Water, and various topographic maps.
http://www.canadiangeographic.ca/atlas/intro.aspx?lang=En
Explore by Themes: the Regions, Energy Systems, the People, Natural Resources, Building a Nation, Gazetteer, etc.
http://www.graphicmaps.com/aatlas/world.htm
http://www.historicalatlas.ca/website/hacolp/index.htm
http://education.nationalgeographic.org/mapping/outline-map/
http://atlas.nrcan.gc.ca/site/english/index.html
"Collection of interactive maps, graphics, images and multi-media resources" relating to Canadian geography and history. Map topics include the environment, people and society, the economy, climate, freshwater distribution, and health. The site also features topographic maps, archives of previous editions of the atlas, lesson plans, a factbook, and information on map-making. Available in English and French. From the Government of Canada.
The Canadian Atlas Online/L'Atlas Canadien Enligne
http://www.canadiangeographic.ca/atlas/
This site provides an "interactive atlas [that] allows you to explore Canada" and "brings cartography to life with exciting graphics and animation." The site features regional and thematic maps, lesson plans, materials for children, and quizzes and games. Also includes links to related sites. Searchable. In English and French. From the Royal Canadian Geographical Society.
Interactive site features maps of Canada from 1700 - 1999, showing boundary changes and a brief history; good for a introductory or review lesson. From Canadian Geographic.
Historical Atlas of Canada Online
The Historical Atlas of Canada was a three-volume collaborative publishing project, finished in 1993, which used maps text and other graphics to explore themes in the history of Canada. The Online Learning Project proposes to make many of the maps and research data created for the Atlas available over the Internet. At present the Online Learning Project is under development and seeking funding; only 15% of the proposed Table of Contents is actively online.
From the BC Minsitry of Sustainable Resource Management, this site has a tutorial that " will show you how to use interactive Internet based maps. After this tutorial you should be able to understand and navigate Ministry maps successfully; even if you have no prior knowledge of GIS. The basic tutorial will probably take about fifteen minutes. However, in less than five minutes you can have the background required to successfully navigate a Ministry map view."
Globalis - an interactive world map
While the UN and other international organisations collect large amounts of statistics each year from all over the world, their reports and tables that are not always easily used in schools. With Globalis, these statistics are available in a simpler and more visual format. The databaseis categorised according to themes from the Human Development Report 2003, which is the first global status report discussing how the countries of the world compare in reaching the UN Millennium Development Goals.
Newspapers Online
Times Colonist Online
http://digital.timescolonist.com/epaper/viewer.aspx
Username: pcslibrary@pacificchristian.ca
Password: the usual one!
http://www.all-links.com/newscentral/
https://www.theguardian.com/international
General Biography Websites
Canadians
Special Collections: Canadians
Mathematics
Biographies of Woman Mathematicians